The Women's Leadership Program (WLP) The Women's Leadership Program (WLP)

About the Women's Leadership Program

The Women's Leadership Program (WLP) is a comprehensive leadership and development program for male and female Mongolian nationals who hold Masters or PhD degree from Australia. WLP aims to enhance participants abilities to compete equally in the workplace and cultivate them to become the next generation of Mongolian leaders. WLP is composed of two components: In-Mongolia component and In-Australia component. The In - Mongolia component runs for eight months between November 2019 - June 2020 and is managed by Zorig Foundation. Selected participants from In-Mongolia component will be invited to participate in In-Australia component that runs for two weeks in June 2020 in Australia.

For more information please visit:

About Australia Awards

The Australia Awards Scholarships (AAS) 2020 intake applications are now closed.

Australia Awards are prestigious international scholarships funded by the Australian Government offering the next generation of global leaders an opportunity to undertake study, research and professional development. Through study and research, recipients develop skills and knowledge to drive change and help build enduring people-to-people links with Australia.

Australia Awards aim to:

  • develop capacity and leadership skills so that individuals can contribute to development in their home country; and
  • build people-to-people links at the individual, institutional and country levels.

The current phase of the Australia Awards in Mongolia scholarship program began in 2018.

Australia Awards in 2019

Australia Award Scholarships will be offered in 2019 for study commencing in 2020.

The application period starts on 1 February 2019 and closes on 30 April 2019. Applications and the required documents must be lodged online.

There are some changes to application requirements for 2019. They are summarised below. The changes are included in the Country Profile and the specific sections on this website. If any aspect of the application process needs to be clarified, contact the Australia Awards in Mongolia office as soon as possible.

Changes for 2019

Changes for 2019 involve revised employment requirements for Category 2 applicants. The change concerns Eligibility criteria.

These changes for 2019 are work experience requirements:

    • Category 2 applicants are required to have worked for two years prior to 1 February 2019, however, they are not required to demonstrate continuous employment.

Work experience requirements for other applicants remain the same as in 2018.

Types of Australia Awards Scholarships

For 2019, Australia Awards Scholarships will be offered as Master by Coursework and Master by Research. Australia Awards Scholarships are not offered at the PhD level.

Information Sessions

The Australia Awards in Mongolia office will be conducting information sessions in Ulaanbaatar and selected provincial locations during February and March 2019. The schedule will be posted on this website as soon as locations and times are finalised.

Application Seminars

There will be seminars conducted in the Program office in March and April to guide applicants in completing application forms and uploading the required documents.


Additional information